Buddhism and Four Rites of Passages

Check out more papers on Buddhism Marriage Rite of Passage

Buddhism has four rites of passages which include birth, becoming a monk, marriage and death. Like most religions they have a systematic approach to the rites of passages and are celebrated differently with each milestone. In the birth passage there are three stages to the process which include baptism, naming ceremony and dedication ceremony. During the Baptism the child is bathed in holy water by a monk to celebrate the birth of the baby and they are celebrated at nearby local temples by the monks. The naming ceremony is where the monk gives the baby a name and to help the child grow up and be prosperous and in good health. The final ceremony is the dedication ceremony is to ensure the child is made promises of commitment by the parents to ensure that the wellbeing of their child is met. This is the first stage of a long but fulfilling rite of passage to become a great follower of Buddha and the principles that the religion holds.

The next stage of the rite of passage is becoming a monk. In the first stage of the process the individual must get their head shaved and kept shaven as long as they are a monk. To become a monk, the teachings of Buddha must be followed and practiced. The significance of becoming a monk is to escape the cycle of rebirth and death. The teaching of Buddha teach monks to live the ways of a happier world and fight against the world's imperfections and sufferings. (Rites of Buddhism 1). The teachings they must follow to remain pure in the Buddhism religion is to not harm living creatures, no stealing from other people, no sexual misdoings or adultery, no false speech, no alcohol or mind-altering drugs. They also follow the four noble truths and is a big part of the teachings they teach their followers. The First Noble Truth states that old age, illness, death is all part of the suffering that we endure throughout our lives.  The Second Noble Truth details is that suffering is closely linked to desire, a desire for being which leads from birth to death and involve ageing, illness, and mortality. There are also various desires for pleasures and for powers which, frustratingly, may not be realized. (Buddha's Teachings 1). The Third Noble Truth details that for you to rid yourself of all suffering you must give up all your desires in the world to be successful. The abandonment of all desires will lead you to the final Noble Truth and to the following the Noble Eightfold path which will lead you to enlightenment.

        Marriage in the Buddhism religion can be celebrated differently throughout the regions or places that are celebrating the marriage. There is no set rules for marriage in the Buddhism religion it is not a requirement of the religion.  The customs of the marriage in Buddhism is that it is not pushed on the person in a spiritual matter but more of a personal matter and they can chose to get married if they so choose. In some instances, some monks in certain regions or countries cannot attend the weddings do to it may bring bad luck to the bride and groom. But, most of the monks can come to the ceremony and support the marriage. In Marriage a Sacred Thread Ritual is done where both the groom and bride attach a thread from their heads and when the speech passage completes, the thread is cut. After the thread was cut, the string is kept by many relatives for three days to ensure they will receive good luck. (Rites of Buddhism 1). After they are married they are required both to uphold the teachings of Buddha and have their children follow suit. The parties took a blessing from monks at the local temple after the civil registration formalities have been completed. Although Buddhist monks do not solemnize a marriage ceremony, they do perform religious services in order to bless the couples. From the Buddhist point of view, marriage is neither holy nor unholy. Buddhism does not regard marriage as a religious duty nor as a sacrament that is ordained in heaven. (Buddhist Matrimony 1).

Did you like this example?

Cite this page

Buddhism And Four Rites Of Passages. (2019, Aug 15). Retrieved May 20, 2024 , from

Save time with Studydriver!

Get in touch with our top writers for a non-plagiarized essays written to satisfy your needs

Get custom essay

Stuck on ideas? Struggling with a concept?

A professional writer will make a clear, mistake-free paper for you!

Get help with your assignment
Leave your email and we will send a sample to you.
Stop wasting your time searching for samples!
You can find a skilled professional who can write any paper for you.
Get unique paper

I'm Amy :)

I can help you save hours on your homework. Let's start by finding a writer.

Find Writer